Inspired by light, passion and mystery. All images are copy-writed to myself, unless stated otherwise. No images may be used without consent.

David Hockney has often been regarded as a playboy of the art world. He has had lascivious relationships, and he has run among strange and crazy artistic circles. Yet he has always retained a sense of stability in his life through his constant and tireless devotion to his work. Hockney is an artist that has always enjoyed success and praise, facing little to no hardship in his career. What is interesting about his life is not the problems he has encountered, but the strides he has taken to bypass much human suffering.

http://www.davidhockney.com/bio (republished from brain-juice.com)

David Hockney was born in Bradford, Yorkshire in 1937, the 4th of 5 children.

By the time he was ten, David knew he wanted to be an artist, so when he won a scholarship to go to Bradford Grammar School he was less than delighted – he would have preferred to go directly into an art college.

He finished school, though, and went on to Bradford Art College. From there, he went on to study at the Royal College of Art in London. David was awarded a Gold medal when he completed his diploma there.

Throughout the 60’s, David’s art career grew and grew. Always absorbed in his work, he drew, painted and etched for long hours each day, had many exhibitions and won scholarships – one of which led him to the USA. Since then, the most prestigious galleries across the world have devoted countless shows to his extraordinary work.

David bought a home and studio in California in 1970’s, but returned to visit his family in Bradford at least twice a year – he spent just 3 Christmases apart from his mother Laura during her lifetime. These days, David spends much of his time in this part of the world and his paintings of the East Yorkshire landscape are admired world-wide.

The original text can be found here on the Salts Mill galleries website. I have been to the Salts Mill gallery, and I really enjoy spending an afternoon browsing the Hockney joiners they have on display. They also have some of his opera sets too, but as I am a photographer his photography grabs my attention more. I have been to the museam twice and both times have come back with inspiration. Theres something about Hockney’s joiners that I really enjoy.


I chose to research David Hockney because I really enjoy his joiners and want to try to create some in my work. I have always liked David Hockney’s work ever since I first researched him for my own joiner back in College. I believe that even if many people copy his technique, they can never create what Hockney did. As your eyes follow each part of his images, the perspective changes just as it would in real life. Hockney also does this with his painting, which I can admit I don’t like as much with the garish colours and less than life-like pictures, but it gives a sense of surrealism in his work. And I hope to maybe one day capture this in my work.

Comments on: "David Hockney Joiners" (2)

  1. Madilyn Turnbull said:

    hey, i am doing an assigment on David Hockney, and i was hoping you could tell me the title of the first artwork featured in this blog~??????
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

