Inspired by light, passion and mystery. All images are copy-writed to myself, unless stated otherwise. No images may be used without consent.

Ansel Adams

Ansel Easton Adams (February 20, 1902 – April 22, 1984) was an American photographer and environmentalist, best known for his black-and-white photographs of the American West and primarily Yosemite National Park.

For his images, he developed the zone system, a way to determine proper exposure and adjust the contrast of the final print. The resulting clarity and depth characterized his photographs. Although his large-format view cameras were difficult to use because of their size, weight, setup time, and film cost, their high-resolution ensured sharpness in his images.

He founded the Group f/64 along with fellow photographers Edward Weston and Imogen Cunningham, which in turn created the Museum of Modern Art’s department of photography.  Opposite to pictorialism!!! Adams’ timeless and visually stunning photographs are reproduced on calendars, posters, and in books, making his photographs widely recognizable.

His amazing photographs of nature inspire me to love my SLR film camera again, even thought I could never achieve the beautiful range of tones in my images. I really like black and white photography, but I find that once I get in the darkroom I don’t get the images that I would want to. It’s probably just that I need more practise, 3 years is not enough to be an expert, or an actual lesson on it 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

