Inspired by light, passion and mystery. All images are copy-writed to myself, unless stated otherwise. No images may be used without consent.

David Levinthal

His works touch upon many aspects of American culture, from Barbie to baseball to X-rated dolls. Levinthal uses small toys and props with dramatic lighting to construct mini environments of subject matters varying from war scenes to voyeurism to racial and political references to American pop culture.

Levinthal creates miniature scenarios using shoeboxes, cardboard, and foam core to make miniature offices, hotel rooms, pool halls, foyers and narrow corridors. These shadowy and dark scenes expose the secrecy and intimacy of small spaces. Levinthal is particularly interested in exploring the different emotions that each scene produces, such as reactions to an office corridor in contrast to those to a hospital or a private bedroom.

Another of my fave photographers. I really like how he can make toys look real using medium format cameras. I tried using a medium format camera in college, and I fell in love with it. I recreated scenes from Jurassic park using toys. I really liked the depth the camera could give. And I hope to use one again.

This is one of the images from my Jurassic Park series I did on a medium format camera at college. It does look better on paper because it is a darkroom print and I had to scan it in. But I was really pleased with how the images came out.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

