Inspired by light, passion and mystery. All images are copy-writed to myself, unless stated otherwise. No images may be used without consent.

David Levinthal

David Levinthal has inspired me for a while in my work, but I have only recently decided to act on this and create images using his work as references.

He uses toys to create images with a small depth of field that trick our eyes into thinking the image is real, or of a real person.

The Wild West(Image-www.davidlevinthal.com) This image of a cowboy on a horse is one of my ¬†favourites from Levinthal’s ‘The Wild West’. I really like how he has managed to make the horse look like it is running with the small depth of field. I can hardly believe that these images are actually toys, I would love my images to have the same feel as this image, but with the lenses I have I will not be able to get this depth of field.

Baseball(Image-www.davidlevinthal.com)

My images will be made using Lego so they will not look real, but I am not trying to make them look real. I want them to portray a message and hopefully I can take inspiration from Levinthal’s work when I am setting up my shoots.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

