Inspired by light, passion and mystery. All images are copy-writed to myself, unless stated otherwise. No images may be used without consent.

We wanted to use the Hertbert’s Glass box as our exhibition space, so we went in to ask about it. It would have cost £35 which to me was very cheap for such a nice space right in the eye of passers-by. But it was booked up until early June, even though we were booking 5 months in advance April and early May were all booked up. So we had to look around for new places to exhibit.

I thought about the 20:21 gallery in Scunthorpe, my home town, as this would be somewhere different to exhibit our work. But after looking into it they had exhibitions booked until July. It seems to me that places book up way too in advance, especially for students needing places to exhibit there work.

We also thought about using the studio in Coventry University, but found out after asking that we couldn’t book it out for the week we needed. So we had to look at more options.

But we carried on looking and eventually found the Lock gallery near the canal Basin in Coventry. We went to have a look around and really liked the space, it is a little small with low ceilings. But I think our work will look good in there.  It is going to cost us £150 which is a little expensive to me, but that includes an opening night on the 1st of May where Emma (the owner) is going to invite the press and have wine and nibbles out for people. I’m only going to invite my boyfriend David for the opening, he is the one person that has kept me going through the work and producing the pictures for my exhibition even when I got bad feedback. Sometimes you need someone to tell you your pictures and ideas are good instead of criticising them.

How we found the Lock Gallery, Alan Dyer from the Coventry Canal Basin Trust passed us onto Emma who owns the Lock Gallery.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

