Inspired by light, passion and mystery. All images are copy-writed to myself, unless stated otherwise. No images may be used without consent.

I find it easier to start thinking more about an idea when I write it down. I needed to come up with a meaning for my ideas, something that would grab the viewer’s attention.

My idea is following on from the research I did for my symposium dvd, I am focusing around the power of imagination and how this can be represented through toys and the creation of scenes and stories.

“Disneyland will never be completed. It will continue to grow as long as there is imagination left in the world.” -Walt Disney

My point of doing this project would be to show everyone that even if you are an adult you can still have the imagination of a child, you never have to grow up as Peter Pan would say. I am especially influenced by Walt Disney, how he managed to create a theme park that kids and adults could enjoy together, he captured the imagination of everyone.

“You’re dead if you aim only for kids. Adults are only kids grown up, anyway.” -Walt Disney

“Of all of our inventions for mass communication, pictures still speak the most universally understood language.” -Walt Disney

Within my project I will use old photographs of me as a child, personal images but they are there to prove a point, that we still have the imagination of children just with our adult knowledge combined with it. I will use this project to construct photographs ive always wanted to take, using Lego, sandwiching negatives together and using Photoshop. Each photograph will be a unique artifact, even the digital prints, I will use vintage paper and sewing to transform them into miniature works of art for the viewer to really look at when they are exhibited on the wall. They will be spilling out of an old suitcase (made to look old using tea staining, vintage material and sewing) onto the wall, like it is showing my imagination and memories all at once. The work will have the aesthetic of a scrapbook, but neater, something that can be exhibited alongside beautiful framed prints and not look out-of-place.

If I can source some darkroom paper I am hoping to photograph rooms and then placing ghostly figures into them, using two negatives sandwiched together, this will play with your imagination and you will start to think up stories when you look at the images. I want your inner child to come out and start to imagine narratives. I may even use Polaroids to create some of the images, if once again I can source and afford the paper.

I always have the hardest time coming up with a meaning behind my work, but this project is about the imagination, it is also about me as I will be using some self portraits. But it is more about everyone how we need to hold on to the innocence of childhood, but add our adult knowledge to it, we need to be mature but we can also let go and have fun, imagine new things, have an adventure, be a kid again.

“I just make what I like – warm and human stories, ones about historic characters and events, and about animals. If there is a secret, I guess it’s that I never make the pictures too childish, but always try to get in a little satire of adult foibles.” —Walt Disney (Foibles, means weaknesses)

“Fantasy and reality often overlap.” —Walt Disney

“Childishness? I think it’s the equivalent of never losing your sense of humor. I mean, there’s a certain something that you retain. It’s the equivalent of not getting so stuffy that you can’t laugh at others.” —Walt Disney



Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

