Inspired by light, passion and mystery. All images are copy-writed to myself, unless stated otherwise. No images may be used without consent.

“Too many people grow up. That’s the real trouble with the world, too many people grow up. They forget. They don’t remember what it’s like to be 12 years old. They patronise, they treat children as inferiors. Well I won’t do that.”

~Walt Disney (from here)

“Over at our place, we’re sure of just one thing: everybody in the world was once a child. So in planning a new picture, we don’t think of grown-ups, and we don’t think of children, but just of that fine, clean, unspoiled spot down deep in every one of us that maybe the world has made us forget and that maybe our pictures can help recall.”

As quoted by Walt Disney (recorded voice) in The Pixar Story. (1938) (From here)

I now have figured out that my first photograph for my final project isn’t about recreating the scene from harry potter, it is about my dream that I could have been working on the films, of course I was too young at the time, but using my imagination I created an image from Lego, like a child would do to portray my dreams an ambitions. My project is part self-portrait part narrative, it is showing you a story to help you find that place of innocence inside you, that still holds your imagination so you can let it free.

With my images I hope to ignite memories in older people, bring back their inner child, and work with the imagination of any children that look at my images. So that everyone can enjoy them, there isn’t one set audience, they are for anyone to look at and appreciate.

I will not just be working with toys, the only thing about my images that will keep them together is the imagination, each one will have a mystery about them that sparks your imagination. Some will be personal to me, but can also be looked at by anyone and a new story seen. Some will be self portraits, these will keep the project personal, and give the viewers someone to relate to. I hope I can achieve all of this.

“Why do we have to grow up? I know more adults who have the children’s approach to life. They’re people who don’t give a hang what the Joneses do. You see them at Disneyland every time you go there. They are not afraid to be delighted with simple pleasures, and they have a degree of contentment with what life has brought – sometimes it isn’t much, either.”

~Walt Disney

“Your dead if you aim only for kids. Adults are only kids grown up, anyway.”

~Walt Disney

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

