Inspired by light, passion and mystery. All images are copy-writed to myself, unless stated otherwise. No images may be used without consent.

My final major project is an installation piece created in a suitcase designed to be exhibited then packed up again, symbolising how you would pack to go on a journey. It is showing how throughout university I have grown as a person, starting at university as a somewhat naïve child and leaving as an adult. But the one thing that I have carried with me is my memories of my childhood, my home and my imagination, how I can look up at the sky and imagine new shapes and pictures. My project will contain scanned photographs of me as a child, images of the sky, ghostly looking images of me moving within photographs of my home, the place I left to move to Uni, it will also contain my letter to self I wrote in the first year and little snippets of writing hinting at the messages in the photographs. The scanned images of me as child will help every viewer remember their childhood however long ago it was, and they will also serve as a self-portrait of me, showing that I may have left that time behind but I can still maintain the imagination and innocence of a child. Some may say everyone has an imagination, but some choose to repress it, needing proof to believe in things, in my images I need you to use you imagination to see the pictures hidden in the sky and in my ghostly images. The ghostly photographs will be showing how I feel disconnected to my home now, as I am so far away in Coventry, it is where I grew up where all the scanned photographs were taken but I am hardly there anymore. But there are still traces of me left in Scunthorpe, my home, the images represent these traces. The ghostly photographs will be taken in the same rooms the scanned photographs of me were taken in; this will connect the whole piece together.

The entire piece will be spilling out of my suitcase onto the gallery wall, each image and piece of writing will be connected together with ribbon, symbolising how my life up to this point is connected together, how it hasn’t been just one straight line there has been many trials and diversions along the way. It is a way for me to show how I feel about leaving Uni, it is an end to another big part of my life and I’ll be moving onto another part of it, but I will always take my childhood and my home with me wherever I go.

Each photograph will be sewn onto with material, vintage material and cut up child’s clothes. This will help the viewer imagine childhood and time passing, like a journey. There will be toys in the suitcase, just a few to tie the entire piece together, to show the theme of childhood innocence, imagination and my personal journey. The suitcase will put the idea of a journey in every viewers mind, and hopefully help them to understand my installation. It is an installation about me, my journey in life, through childhood to University and how I believe you must carry your childhood and imagination with you, so you can sometimes escape the real world and go on a journey of your own.

How my installation will look when its being exhibited, just a crude drawing.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

