Inspired by light, passion and mystery. All images are copy-writed to myself, unless stated otherwise. No images may be used without consent.

Jean Piaget is beat known for his research on children’s cognitive development, Piaget studied the intellectual development of his own three children. I found out about him while researching how children’s imaginations can shape them as people and make them who they are. I found this quote from him ‘The principal goal of education is to create [people] who are capable of doing new things, not simply of repeating what other generations have done – [people] who are creative, inventive and discoverers.’ I understand it as meaning we must not stop imagination in children because it helps them grow up creative and inventive. I believe we never really lose our imagination, we always keep it with us, this is something that I will be trying to show with my installation.

John Holt has been quoted as saying,

‘What children need is not new and better curricula but access to more and more of the real world; plenty of time and space to think over their experiences, and to use fantasy and play to make meaning out of them; and advice, road maps, guidebooks, to make it easier for them to get where they want to go (not where we think they ought to go), and to find out what they want to find out. (John Holt, 1981)

I found these two ideas really interesting and they make me think about different directions I could go in for my installation. Do I want to capture the imagination of children only, or do I want to capture everyone’s imagination. I think with my piece I want to show how you imagination is carried with you from childhood all through your life, so my piece will be aimed at everyone. But it is interesting to research and think about new meanings my work could convey.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

