Inspired by light, passion and mystery. All images are copy-writed to myself, unless stated otherwise. No images may be used without consent.

‘The Weather Project’

In this installation, The Weather Project, representations of the sun and sky dominate the expanse of the Turbine Hall. A fine mist permeates the space, as if creeping in from the environment outside. Throughout the day, the mist accumulates into faint, cloud-like formations, before dissipating across the space. A glance overhead, to see where the mist might escape, reveals that the ceiling of the Turbine Hall has disappeared, replaced by a reflection of the space below. At the far end of the hall is a giant semi-circular form made up of hundreds of mono-frequency lamps. The arc repeated in the mirror overhead produces a sphere of dazzling radiance linking the real space with the reflection. Generally used in street lighting, mono-frequency lamps emit light at such a narrow frequency that colours other than yellow and black are invisible, thus transforming the visual field around the sun into a vast duotone landscape.

From the Tate’s website article on the installation.

I remember my parents saying they had been to see this exhibition back in 2004, and I decided to research it towards my installation project because they said it really captured your imagination and made you want to sit down and look at it for a while. I want my installation to capture the imagination of the viewers that see it, I want it to bring back memories in their mind. I do like looking at other artists installations because I can see how they used the space they had to get viewers looking at their work. I will only have a small space in the Coventry Lanchester Gallery so I must make my work stand out even though there will be 20 other people exhibiting their work, and each piece of work showcases a different subject and all have their own merits.

I found a really good video showing the installation, it really manages to capture the atmosphere the installation created in the place. All thanks for the video go to its creator, farnishk.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

