Inspired by light, passion and mystery. All images are copy-writed to myself, unless stated otherwise. No images may be used without consent.

I wanted to add the letter to self that I wrote back in first year into my installation because I felt it really showed how I was feeling back when I first came to university. I also decided to add the reply letter to self I wrote at the end of my first year to show how much I grew in one year. My reply letter to self now would be very similar, except I’d have to say how nervous I feel about being out in the real world all the worries that follow. But I didn’t want my installation to be about that, I wanted it to be about how I have grown as a person from my childhood to now, always carrying those memories with me, and how I was always at home. Now it is different, I feel myself becoming disconnected from home, that’s what the ghostly photographs are trying to say, that I never really visit home much now, I have moved on. But I will always carry my childhood with me, symbolised by the childhood photographs, and I will always have my imagination, symbolised by the photographs of the sky.

I sewed each of the letter on their own piece of ribbon, so that they can move when people walk past them, and so people can get close to read them. I want the installation to be a mass of suspended photographs and words, hopefully letting people use their imagination when they look at it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

