Inspired by light, passion and mystery. All images are copy-writed to myself, unless stated otherwise. No images may be used without consent.

After all the problems at the start of my final major project I really feel I have created something that I like and have enjoyed creating. I was annoyed at the start that people’s feedback had made me change from my original idea of recreating film scenes from Lego, but after a while I felt their feedback had given me a chance to follow a different route with my photography work, one that really showcases everything I have learnt and done throughout the three years. I had to think about new ways to approach my ideas, which is a good skill to use for later in life in jobs. My idea came to me in parts, I kept thinking about new things I could include in my project, and this is one of the reasons why I wanted to create an installation, so that it could contain all of my separate photography projects into one idea and hold one meaning.  I think this meaning may be slightly hard for people to understand at first, but I am hoping the symbolism I have placed in the installation will help get the meaning across. A suitcase, to show a journey, children’s toys to symbolise childhood and the imagination, photographs of me to show it is a personal journey and the ribbon holding everything together because it is connected.

I feel this project was one of my best for time keeping. I knew I had to get the photographs finished early because I had to create the entire installation around the photographs. I got the photographs done before the eater holidays so I could spend all the free time sewing my photographs onto the ribbon and sourcing any new materials I needed. It did take me longer than I thought to get the installation together, sewing it took a lot of time and patience. Maybe if I was sewing onto photographs again I would use a sewing machine with a thin needle to speed up the process. I did get the installation finished in time ready so I could photograph it set up in the studio for hand in. The studio was only available on Monday the 21st so I had to shoot on this day.

Overall I am really happy with how this project went. and I am excited to see it up in the gallery. If I were to do this project again I might create some final prints to go with the work and be hung up, because I feel my work may look a little like handmade craft next to all the amazing prints my fellow students have produced. But I like that I was able to create something I enjoy and really showcase my talents as a photographer and an artist. I loved doing all of the research looking at photographers and artists and really broadening my horizons. I’m glad this work will be photographed as well as exhibited so that it can live on even after it has been taken down. I really enjoyed this project and am happy to have it all finished, it is a nice way to end my journey through University.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

