Inspired by light, passion and mystery. All images are copy-writed to myself, unless stated otherwise. No images may be used without consent.

Light Graffiti

After being inspired by the light graffiti in the ‘Talk Talk’ advert over the summer I decided to follow this inspiration with a project using glow sticks to create movement with light. In my images I wanted to show how light can change an image, how it can be moved to create shapes and colours. I used red and blue glowsticks for my images because I felt they gave the best atmosphere to the images and were bright enough to see in my photographs.

Inspiration from research!

Michael Bosanko is a photographer who’s taken on light painting in a series called “We Come in Peace”, in which figures made of light seem to interact with their surroundings in a way that’s comical, fun and highly engaging.

 

German duo Cenci Goepel and Jens Warnecke create stark imagery that brings a ghostly quality to the beauty of nature, turning striking natural settings into backdrops for glowing organic forms made of moving light. Their subtle use of light painting in deserts, canyons, forests and snow-covered fjords makes the illuminated forms seem to blend in with their backgrounds in a way that brings to mind alien landscapes on some far away planet.

Eric Staller‘s light drawings, created between 1976 and 1980 in New York City, give the viewer a whole new look at the Big Apple. These examples of light graffiti were created using a long exposure with a variety of light sources, sometimes in the form of 3-dimensional lit installations. His photographs seem to give the light itself a life of its own, as it travels through the city creating whimsical shapes down its streets and walkways.

Sola is a UK photographer whose experiments with the flow, form and movement of light are captured in two series, “Embro” and “Solid Trace”. Embro, defined by the artist as “Echoes of the organic world translated into a synthetic language”, seems to explore how light captured in a photograph can seem just as organic as anything else around us.

All from http://www.weburbanist.com.

After looking at all the photographers images I really had a sense of what could be achieved with light graffiti, and I would love to go out and create urban light graffiti or even portraits using this unique medium.

My Images

I think my indoor shoot went very well. I am pleased with the outcome of it and hope to take more pictures like this using different colours and shapes. The images do look better bigger as they are detailed. I love how they show the movement of the light and the shapes it can create as it slices through the air.

Leave a comment

Tag Cloud